Beans!

I have beans!! Albeit very small ones at the moment but they are there!  They just appeared seemingly overnight.

  

These are French beans that I bought at our local hardware shop when they were a couple of inches tall and planted up in a big pot on the patio.  I put 6 plants in and trained two up each of three bamboo canes.  Four of the plants seem to be doing well but the other two are struggling a bit.  But there are definitely beans!!

The potatoes are starting to die back now so I should be able to dig them out soon.  I am hoping to coincide this with my parents’ visit in a couple of weeks so we can all try them out – if there are any of course!

I picked up a great book at the library yesterday, The Complete Vegetable Grower by John Harrison.  It’s perfect for beginners like me.  I’ll review it when I’ve finished it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hurrah! Do you feed them with anything, or is the compost they’re in plenty?
    I’ll have to stick with the veg box for the foreseeable…
    Dan
    -x-

    Reply

    • I haven’t fed them but maybe I should start. I’m trying to be organic so I’m not sure what to use. I have organic strawberry fertiliser, perhaps I could use that on the beans too?

      Reply

      • You could always start composting too. I’m sure you’ll have plenty of pods and peelings from all the veg you’re growing!
        Dan
        -x-

    • Already doing that, you should see the size of my compost bin!!! I’ll post a photo soon!

      Reply

Any thoughts?

