Late sowing

Since I harvested the potatoes, the used compost has been sitting in a big bucket because I didn’t want to throw it away.  But what to do with it?  As a newbie veg gardener I am not sure what you can sow at which times of the year but some of the magazines seem to suggest that you can sow quite a few things this time of year.

So this morning I got the potato grow bag back out of the shed, mixed half and half used compost and new peat free compost and filled it halfway up.  I folded the top over and made two drills into which I put some carrot seed and some turnip seed.  In my trough which had had mixed salad leaves and radishes, I again mixed in some new compost and sowed pak choi and chicory.

All the seeds are freebies which I have collected from various magazines so if they don’t produce much it’s no biggie.

Meanwhile I have the tiniest of shoots coming up in one of the pots I sowed with parsley about 10 days ago.  I was starting to think nothing was going to grow but looks like something is happening after all!

And, we have decided to let the guys our builder recommended loose on the garden.  They are going to come around the beginning of September to do all the manual work like ripping up and replacing the old weed membrane and gravel, taking out some shrubs and root stumps, digging me a veg patch and laying a new lawn.  Then it is up to us!! Yikes.

3 responses to this post.

  1. That looks like a good idea to me! I grow chicory for the wonderful blue flowers – http://flightplot.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/the-summertime-blues/

    Good luck with the gardeners. You’re be looking forward to next year once it’s been done! xx

    Reply

  2. Sounds like you are in for a bit of upheaval – hope you don’t get too stressed – it will be worth it in the end.

    Reply

  3. Good luck with the winter veg. The carrots might not come to much but the turnips are fast growers and you should get something from them. I just sowed some more last week. I love the idea of trying to get two crops from the same compost and do it with all my containers.

    Colin
    therecycledgardener

    Reply

Any thoughts?

