Seeds & sets ordered

I’ve learned a new word recently, “sets”.  These are the small onions that you plant in the ground to get big onions.  They are originally sown as seeds quite thickly so have stunted growth but once transplanted out individually with plenty of room, they will grow to proper sized onions.

I have bitten the bullet and ordered some onion sets.  I wasn’t going to plant anything until spring but I don’t think I’ll be able to look at my newly dug vegetable bed (happening in the next couple of weeks) lying empty all winter.  So onions will go in along with garlic and I’m also going to try some cabbage and peas but I think I’ll do the peas in containers as they will be a dwarf variety.

I have ordered from SimplySeed as they do smaller amounts than most of the other companies.  I think the cabbage and peas should arrive this week but the onions and garlic are not dispatched until 3rd week of September.  They have a 3 for £4.99 offer on onions and garlic at the moment.

Edit: Just checked my order and it seems they are sending everything out together so nothing for at least a couple of weeks 😦

One response to this post.

  1. Good for you! I only grow the spring sets. xx

    Reply

Any thoughts?

