Book review: Veg Patch (River Cottage Handbook No. 4) by Mark Diacono

Veg Patch: River Cottage Handbook No.4 (River Cottage Handbook 4)Veg Patch: River Cottage Handbook No.4 by Mark Diacono

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this book as a birthday present from a friend, and I’m grateful to Anne because I may not have bought it myself and missed out on it.
I cheated a bit and didn’t read every page but those were the recipe pages and the individual vegetable detail pages which will be useful to come back to throughout the gardening year.
There is some good information in this book, and it clarified the rotation system to me, I now know which crops should follow which!
The book is a nice neat size, with a textured cover. Lovely photography, and well written. It also contains some unbelievable facts like most peas and French beans are imported from abroad, which makes no sense at all. I grew French beans in a container this year and apart from keeping them watered they practically grew themselves. And they are ideal for freezing so there’s no need to import them.
The author, Mark Diacono is head gardener at River Cottage, and has his own garden at Otter Farm.

View all my reviews

2 responses to this post.

  1. ooh I have this book; really like it. Plus I love the feel of the cover (does that make me sound weird?) – long live the real book and die, DIE Kindle!!!!

    Reply

    • I soooo agree Carrie! I don’t like the thought of a Kindle. One advantage though would be being able to change the font size because I did struggle a little with the small type in this book!

      Reply

Any thoughts?

