A proper gardener

I got quite a few things done yesterday.  I’m afraid Morrisons’ plant section managed to ensnare me once again but I only spent a fiver and got 2 perennials and 2 different types of bulbs.  The bulbs were £1 a packet for 6 snowdrops or 10 fritillaries.  There were various others there too but I just chose these.  The perennials I got were 2 for £3, a Heuchera Ruby Bells and a Penstemon Picotee Red. They also had good size Cordylines but I left those for now.

So the bulbs are now in the lavender bed.  It doesn’t look much yet, the lavenders are very small and the bulbs are obviously underground but you can see the Japanese anemone!  I’m hoping the 3 buds on it will open before it gets too cold.

I then checked on my cabbage and pea seeds in the growhouse.  All 7 cabbages have germinated and 3 of 7 peas so far.  There doesn’t appear to be any difference between the Jiffy 7s and the multipurpose compost in terms of germination.

I have put my three strawberry runners in there and the four large pots in the middle contain 3 sweet pea seeds each, also sown yesterday.  I’ve planted 2 pots with Spencer Waved Mixed and 2 with Butterfly Kisses.

And then I did some real planting!!  I put in my garlic!  I planted one block of Vallelado from the Organic Catalogue.  I had 3 bulbs which gave me 20 decent sized cloves.  And I had 1 bulb of Solent Wight from SimplySeeds from which I got a block of 16 cloves but some of them were quite small and may not be viable.  Here’s a picture but it is just of a bed of soil and a few lolly sticks!!

I’m not sure if I have planted them too deep but I guess all will be revealed in due course!  The skies were darkening for a rainstorm at this point so my intentions of planting the onion sets were scuppered but that is a job for today.

In other news…..it seems my rescue efforts on the blueberry worked, it has produced the first new growth since I’ve had it!!

And my yellow dahlia has finally produced a flower……(sorry about the blur!)

I’m starting to feel like a proper gardener now!!

(All photos can be clicked to enlarge.)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Not sure if you’ve grown penstemons before but they can be a bit temperamental through our winters. Carol Klein was saying on Gardeners world on Friday she lost all hers last winter. I think you’re meant to take cuttings in the late summer just in case and also mulch to protect the plant. I had four plants and only have 1 left although it survived minus 18 so I’m guessing there isn’t much else that could kill it well apart from me !!!

    Reply

    • Possibly why they were being sold off cheaply then. I’ll keep mine under cover in its pot until the spring. If it dies it was only £1.50.

      Reply

  2. I too lost all but one of my Penstemons last winter – so just in case I am going to dig up the one that survived and keep it in the greenhouse overwinter and take cuttings just to make sure.

    Reply

  3. Goodness you have been busy so I think that you’re entitled to feel like a proper gardener.
    If you’re garlic doesn’t show you can always plant more in the spring. xx

    Reply

Any thoughts?

