Quick round-up and a yummy dinner

I’ve not done a lot in the garden since the last post.  Tomorrow I will be planting the peas and cabbage that are in the jiffys and coir pots into the ground as they are doing well.

Pea Meteor (front), Cabbage Advantage F1 (back)

None of the ones in the ground are showing through yet but I did buy a cheap plastic cloche on ebay.  1.2m long with three wire hoops – £3.49. It probably won’t hold up for years and years but at that price it was worth a punt. Although now I think about it, it probably wasn’t a good decision eco-friendly-wise!

Next to the peas in the growhouse above are the sweet peas with 3 to a pot, all of which are starting to show

I think I’ll sow some more sweet peas as I had another free packet on Grow Your Own magazine this month, Tall Mixed, and I could put them along the boundary fence in the veg patch to encourage the bees.

Remember I repotted the blueberry?  It has decided to produce flower buds!! (apologies for blurry photo!!)

A friend of ours is complaining that her spring bulbs are coming up and she only planted them two weeks ago.  A couple of my onions have started to make an appearance

And finally I have been reading Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s new book River Cottage Veg Every Day, and during the week I made Chachouka.  Here is my effort and very tasty it was too served with warmed crusty French stick!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Everything is a bit topsy turvy this year. I’ve got hellebores and primroses in flower. Biennials such as stocks are flowering and my new blackberry is producing some beautiful white flowers. It’s all a bit crazy.

    Reply

  2. It’s all coming along nicely by the look of it. I read recently that someone’s spring crocus and daffodils had just peeked above ground! xx

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jan on October 15, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Planting out some strawberry runners, I found some ripe strawberries and several baby ones-they even survived last night’s first frost here.

    Reply

Any thoughts?

