State of Mind

I’m a little concerned about my state of mind – I think they call it “obsession”!!  I am thinking about growing veg all the time, I’m reading about it – I’m even dreaming about it at night!!  I’m buying little bits and pieces all the time and am now convinced my little garden veg bed is nowhere near big enough and that it’s time to think about an allotment!  And I’ve not even really grown anything yet.

Yes I grew potatoes in a patio bag, tomatoes and French beans in containers and quite a few herbs this summer.  But now I have  a veg bed I have onions – white and red, two types of garlic, peas, broad beans and cabbages all in for overwintering.  My turnips are starting to swell nicely in their patio bag.  I’ve decided on my French and runner beans for the spring and am deciding on how many potato tubers to get.  I want carrots, leeks, tomatoes, salads, squash, and kale next year but the bed is already half full.

When I was at uni I studied zoology, animals all the way, plants didn’t do anything!  Now I’ve completely switched.  At least plants stay where you put them, they don’t wander all over the place (unless dragged there by an animal).  And they grow a lot.  How does a tiny seed have enough stuff in it to become a radish let alone a whopping great big cabbage or a massive handful of green beans??  If you stopped to think about it too long you’d go doolally.

I’m excited and concerned all at the same time.  Excited when things start to pop up through the soil, concerned when I discover something has nibbled them – like my tiny pea plants today.  I don’t know if what I’m doing is right – basically I’m winging it to be honest.

I bought a rhubarb crown today.  I have no idea where I’m going to plant it, or even if it is alive – it just looks like a dead stump at the moment.  I put my cabbage collars on and made some kind of cover for the nibbled peas.

I need to go out and walk the dog, but I’ll be listening to the Alternative Kitchen Garden podcast while I’m doing it!!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Oh dear – you have got it bad – but its not a bad thing to be obsessive about is it. At least as winter approaches you can give your mind a bit of a rest, there won’t be a lot to do and you can save your energy for spring – then it’s all systems go again.

    Reply

  2. I was nodding in agreement and smiling as I read this post but don’t worry as that’s not being obsessive, that’s all perfectly normal if you’re a gardener! xx

    Reply

  3. It is exciting to see the tiny shoots popping through though isn’t it! I’m excited for you too, but a little dismayed because I ran out of soap today!! Any in stock?
    Dan
    -x-

    Reply

  4. Growing plants is incredibly addictive. I have small front and back garden and we’ve had an allotment for a year. That still doesn’t satisfy my growing needs. I know that sounds awfully greedy, I know I’m really lucky to have what I’ve got, its just I can’t grow tomatoes or peppers or aubergines because I can’t fit in a greenhouse and I can’t grow fruit trees because of lack of space but hopefully I’ll get the chance to grow these plants one day. But for now my mission this winter is to plan my allotment for maximum efficiency.

    Reply

Any thoughts?

