A short local walk, first turnips & last tomatoes

Chester has a cycle path that runs between Connah’s Quay in Deeside to Mickle Trafford a few miles east of Chester.  It is along the route of an old railway track so is very flat and ideal for strolling along.  I have walked a couple of miles of it from the nearest access point to our house before but had never been to the Mickle Trafford end, so yesterday morning we packed the dog into the car and parked at the far end.  There is no official parking area but the owner of a nearby industrial unit allowed us to park on his forecourt as long as we didn’t break an ankle and sue him as a previous person had done!!

We walked for about half an hour along the track to where it goes under the A55, and then the skies were darkening a bit so we headed back.  Along the route were some interesting pieces of art…

This morning I had a mooch about the garden and found that the last of the tomatoes are ripening up finally, possibly because I gave them a good drenching after not watering for a good 10 days.

I picked the ripest and I think I’ll give the rest another week.

In the patio bag I noticed a couple of the turnips pushing back up through the compost I had earthed them up with a couple of weeks ago, so I investigated and pulled out these two

I don’t remember ever having eaten a turnip so this will be a new experience for me.  I’ll probably just roast them in some olive oil this evening.

My onions are coming up quite well now, there are about 20 little green shoots, but no sign of the garlic yet.  The peas are doing ok and the cabbages now have collars.

I picked some of the French bean pods that have been drying in the shed and shelled them.  I’ve got plenty of seed to attempt to grow in the spring now.

Finally I sowed a few more sweet peas in the growhouse, Tall Mixed this time, and that’s about it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Isn’t it wonderful how tomatoes just keep on going – I too still have some outdoor Sungold – I stopped watering ages ago, there is no foliage, yet still tomatoes keep coming. Nature is a wonderful thing.

    Reply

  2. Have your tomatoes had any cover? I’m so tempted to grow them next year but we had 4 successive years of blight so gave up.

    Reply

    • No cover at all, just exposed to the elements!! It is the first year I have grown anything though, and in my back garden on the patio, so perhaps there are no blight spores around here yet? Or beginner’s luck??

      Reply

  3. Fascinating artwork! Lucky you with the tomatoes, and those turnips look okay. xx

    Reply

Any thoughts?