First harvest of 2012!

Well here we are.  Cabbage sown inside in September and planted out in October into the brand new veg bed.  I’ve just cut the first one to go with our dinner this evening, how exciting!!  Seeds from SimplySeed, variety Advantage F1.  Hope it tastes as good as it looks!!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Ok, everyone who grows their own says that it is much better tasting than shop bought. You better believe it. I’m not usually fussed about cabbage, I eat it because sometimes I feel I really need to have something green. But this……………..it was almost sweet!! More please!!!

    Reply

  2. I do love cabbage but didn’t bother with spring cabbage last year as they take up a lot of room maybe I will rectify that this year as I miss it. Home grown always tastes better glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  3. Congratulations. There is a real sense of satisfaction when you come to eat your own produce. This might be a reason why it tastes so good and also it is super fresh. I didn’t do any cabbage but I am enjoying our rhubarb harvest at the moment. Here’s to a bumper harvest form your veg beds.

    Reply

  4. Congrats….I’m not a huge cabbage fan but that does look yummy 😉

    I don’t have the room for these which is a shame

    Reply

Any thoughts?

