Whoops!

Oh dear, poor neglected blog.  I got so caught up in the harvesting and eating of the things I’d grown that the blogging got left by the wayside.  Must…..try…….harder…….

So far this year I only have garlic in the ground.  They went in over Christmas before the snow so I hope they are ok.  Last year I put them in around October and they were already poking through when the colder weather came.  I’ve gone for a French variety this year called Cristo, which I picked up at the garden centre.  Also last year I got rust on the leaves but it doesn’t seem to have affected the bulbs at all which we are still eating now.  I probably got about 25 bulbs from last year’s efforts.  I’ve given a few away and some were quite small but they all divided into cloves and taste great.

DSCN1230

I can’t believe it is February tomorrow!!  Must get some seed potatoes and start chitting.  I only had a small crop of 4 different varieties last year, and unfortunately, as with most people whose blogs I’ve read, they went mushy on boiling.  Some of the Desirees were huge when I dug them up.

Well, back to it I guess – need to find a good blight free tomato for this year, any suggestions?

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hello, I thought that perhaps you’d had such a bad gardening year that you’d given up both that and blogging! It was a poor year for potatoes. Regarding tomatoes I’m trying Outdoor Girl which has been recommended to me. Also have a look at Elaine’s and Linsay’s blogs via links on my Lawn loungers list as they’ve both done posts this week about tomatoes. Take care xx

    Reply

  2. Someone suggested that I try yellow and orange outdoor varieties of tomatoes. They’re supposedly more blight resistant. We shal see…

    Reply

Any thoughts?

